99- Chase Liardi (Mass) dec. Luke Smith (Haup) 6-3 OT

106- Sal Minichiello (Mass) dec. Thomas Volpe (Haup) 10-4

113- Dylan Earl (Mon-Wood) dec. Ryan Burgos (Mon-Wood) 8-1

120- Marco Vespa (Mon-Wood) maj.dec. Dan Gibson (Port Washington) 12-1

126- Nick Karamoshos (Mass) tech fall Max Maquet (LB) 18-3

132- Joe Kasten (Connetquot) pinned Will Piatti (Mass) 1:19

138- Dan Mauriello (Haup) dec.  Joe McGuinty (Mon-Wood) 3-1

145- Kyle Mosher (South Side) maj.dec.  Brevin Cassella (Nashoba) 13-1

152- John Manning (St. Thomas, Villanova, Canada) tech fall Carter Stewart (Mon-Wood) 17-2

160- Jake Silverstein (Haup) dec.  Lucas Cordio (Nashoba) 6-5

170- Michael McCabe (LB) pinned Tyshawn Moody (Middletown) 5:39

182- Angelo Petrakis (Mass) dec. Michael Tyrell (Haup) 7-3

195- Elijah Rodriguez (LB) pinned Elvis Alvarez (LB) :04

220- Thomas Bachmeier (Bethpage) dec. David Strauss (Bethpage) 5-3 OT

285- Duncan Wilgres-Pipe (Nashoba) pinned Billy Smithwick (Mass) :26

OSW Award: Chase Liardi (Massapequa) - 99 pounds

Most Pins Award: Jake Silverstein (Hauppauge) - 160 pounds - 3 falls in 2:04


   A well balanced Massapequa squad crowned four champions en route to the team title at the 55th annual MHS Holiday Tournament. The Chiefs were paced by all-county and OSW winner Chase Liardi (19-1) who used a three-point near fall in the extra stanza to edge highly touted Luke Smith (16-2), 6-3 OT at 99 pounds, other hometown gold medailsts were: Sal Minichiello (106), Nick Karamoshos (126) and unbeaten Angelo Petrakis (12-0) at 182. State runner-up and Most Pins winner Jake Silverstein (Hauppauge) rolled through the 160-pound bracket and now has an impressive 202 career wins. The Eagles' other winner was sophomore Dan Mauriello (17-1) who earned his 100th career victory with his 3-1 decision in the 138-pound final. Three-time state placer Kyle Mosher (16-1) of South Side won the 145-pound class. Two--time MHS champion John Manning (16-2) rode his way to the 152-pound crown, he recently placed fourth in the prestigious Beast of the East. The Brown- bound Manning hails from St. Thomas- Villanova , Canada, and is coached by his father, Bill, a former league champion and a 1983 graduate from Berner HS. Defending Nassau champion Elijah Rodriguez (14-3) of Long Beach posted a first period pin in the finals and is amongst the state's best at 195 pounds. Section Nine power Monroe-Woodbury finished as team runners-up and had two winners; state medalists Dylan Earl (113) and Marco Vespa. Vespa registered a solid 12-1 major decision over Nassau County finalist Dan Gibson (Port Washington) in the 120-pound class, both are potential finalists at the 2018 state meet. Connetquot claimed a championship,  as Joe Kasten won the 132-pound class, the T-Birds veteran and Hall-of-Fame coach Bill Santoro is now in his 40th year at the helm. Special thanks to tournament director Laura Maddock for all her help and assistance throughout the day-long tournament.


1. Massapequa (344.5 points)

​2. Monroe-Woodbury (224)

3. Long Beach (187)

4. Connetquot (185)

4. Hauppauge (185)