Mat Notes...

   Connetquot won the 50th annual Massapequa Holiday tournament as they tallied 250 points to edge Section Nine power Monroe-Woodbury (229.5) and rival Hauppauge who finished with 224.5 points. The T'Birds crowned five champions Gino Titone (15-0) at 145, all-county Greg Chery who defeated Hauppauge junior Francisco Bisono (11-3), 3-0, at 152, top-seeded Allon Avgi (14-0) at 170, Chris Beal (182) and unbeaten Tom Flanagan at 195. Third-place team finisher Hauppauge (10-0 in duals) was paced by unbeaten sophomore and county finalist Chris Mauriello (14-0) at 132 and  John Donahue who posted three falls and edged Keith Wildstein (15-4), 7-6, en route to the 160-pound title.

   Long Beach's  unbeaten eighth-grader Jacori Teemer (18-0) posted an exciting 7-6 victory over Hauppauge's Jake Silverstein to claim the 99-pound crown.

   Host team Massapequa's Tim Gungor, a county bronze medalist, won the 285-pound class.

   Bethpage's all-county junior Jake Einbinder (14-2) won the 138-pound championship. The OSW went to Division's Ricky Stamm (126) and the Most Pins went to Monroe-Woodbury's Rob Kelly who recorded three falls in 5:22 to capture the 220-pound class.

                 50th Annual Massapequa Tournament Final Results


  99- Jacori Teemer (Long Beach) dec. Jake Silverstein (Hauppauge) 7-6

106- Vinny Vespa (Monroe-Woodbury) dec. Ben Tepperman (Haup) 3-1

113- Kevin Kelly (M-W) dec. Art Bain (Division) 6-0

120- Evan Barczak (MW) pinned Andrew Ashmawi (Massapequa) 3:26

126- Ricky Stamm (Div) dec. PJ Smoot (MW)  9-8 OT

132- Chris Mauriello (Haup) maj. dec. Eddie Hart (Connetquot) 16-3

138- Jake Einbinder (Bethpage) dec. Ralph Cazzetta (Haup) 12-5

145- Gino Titone (Conn) dec. Connor Kelly (Haup) 14-7

152- Greg Cherry (Conn) dec. Francisco Bisono (Haup) 3-1 OT

160- John Donahue (Haup) dec. Keith Wildstein (LB) 7-6

170- Allon Avgi (Conn) tech fall  Vincent Drago (Haup) 16-1

182- Chris Beal (Conn) dec. Charles Bachmeier (Beth) 2-1

195- Tom Flanagan (Conn) pinned Mike Dibennedeto (Mass) 1:45

220- Rob Kelly (MWood) dec. Renato Gamboa (Div) 9-3

285- Tim Gungor (Mass) dec. James Louison (Haup) 3-2



1. Connetquot (250)

2. Monroe-Woodbury (229.5)

3. Hauppauge (224.5)

4. Massapequa (185)

5. Long Beach (128)

6. Levittown Division (105.5)

7. Bethpage (71)

8. Southside (50)

9. Great Neck South (25)