Kevin Parker

(Shenendehowa - 182)

Ricardo Dawkins from General Brown (Section III) takes Charles Zaloom of Mattituck (Section XI) to the mat. Dawkins won 10-5 in Division II's 220 pound quarterfinal. Section III currently leads Division II.

Alex Vargas

(Syosset - 126)

Anthony Sparacio 

(North Babylon - 120)

Tommy Cox

(Deer Park - 113)

Chris Mauriello

(Hauppauge - 152)

Marcus Bisono of Hauppauge (Section XI) needed this takedown in overtime to defeat second seeded Tyler Barnes of Ballston Spa (Section II) 3-1 in 170 pound quarterfinal action at the New York State Tournament. Section XI (Suffolk County) currently leads the tournament with 102 points ahead of Section V (87) followed by host Section II (80.5). Section VIII (Nassau County) is in fifth place with 72 points.

Adam Busiello 

(Eastport South Manor - 106)

Terron Robinson 

(Walt Whitman - 220)

Anthony Cirillo

(Rocky Point - 113)

Christian Araneo

(Ward Melville - 195)

Below: Two time defending NYS Champion Jacori Teemer of Long Beach (Section VIII) uses his ankle pick to takedown Kiernan Shanahan of Shenendehowa. Teemer won 11-6 to advance into Saturday's 126 pound semifinal.


Hilton's Yanni Diakomihalis from Section V lifts Connor Day of Iroquois. Diakomihalis scored a 20-5 technical fall in the 138 pound quarterfinal.

John Arceri

(Huntington - 126)

     Defending Division I sectional team champion Section XI (Suffolk County) leads the 54th annual NYSPHSAA Championships with 102 points, slightly ahead of Section V (87) and Section Two (82.5). The blue-clad group advanced 12 wrestlers into the semi-finals and were paced by state champions Adam Busiello (46-0) at 106, John Arceri (43-0) at 126 Chris Mauriello (43-1) at 152 and Christian Araneo (40-0) at 195 pounds.

     Section V (Rochester area) pushed 10 wrestlers into the semis and were led by three-time champion Yianni Diakomihalis (52-0, 230-3 career) at 138, Frankie Gissendanner (47-0) at 152 and Louie DePrez (48-0) at 170 pounds.

     State tournament host Section II (Capital region) currently sits in third place and has reigning state king Kevin Parker (39-1) in the semi-finals at 182 pounds.

     Other Division I champions that remained unscathed were two-time winners;  Jacori Teemer (47-0) at 126 and Vito Arujau (43-0, 181-1) who posted two tech falls at 132 pounds and now has a 134 match win streak.

     In the Division II Tournament defending team champion Section III (Syracuse area) with 119 points leads Section VI (95.5) and Section V (88.5). The Central NY group is paced by reigning state champions Theo Power (51-3) at 120, Hunter Richard (45-2) at 145 and Alex Herringshaw (44-2) at 170 pounds. Other remaining state winners in the semi-finals are AJ Burkhart (35-3) at 106, Dane Heberlein (56-2), Jon Gomez, both at 120, along with Matteo DeVincenzo (34-0), and Kellen Devlin (47-1) in the 132-pound class. Interesting semi-final match-up will pit Gomez vs Powers with the winner to possible face top-seeded Heberlein (194-11) in the loaded 120-pound bracket.

Tyreek Bromley

(Long Beach - 182)