Longtime West Islip residents Mr. and Mrs. Brzozinski were on hand to take in the action. They were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary and were watching their sons, Central Islip coaches, Brad and Rick.

West Islip Coach Nick LaGiglia with his assistant.

     West Islip got off to a great start in this cross town rival dual. Avenging an earlier season lost to CI, the Lions jumped out to a commanding 24-0 lead after four straight pins starting with 99 pounder Devin Marino. Ryan Beyerbach, Colin McShane, and Chris Labriola all followed suit. McShane was involved in a back and forth battle with Jonathan Reyes and was leading 14-12 when he secured the third period fall. WI picked up three more pins from John Dooling, Dan Youngelman and Nick Morillo. Central islip battled back winning the last three matches but it wasn't enough as WI took the dual 48-30

126- Andres Garcia 

(Central Islip)

132- Jordan Mars

 (Central Islip)

138- Gardy Oliver

 (Central Islip)

145- John Dooling

 (West Islip)

99- Devin Marino (West Islip)

106- Ryan Beyerbach (West Islip)

120- Chris Labriola (West Islip)

West Islip's Colin McShane attacks Central Islip's Jonathan Reyes. McShane picked up the late fall in this wild 113 pound bout.  

             WEST ISLIP 48                   CENTRAL ISLIP  30

  99 - Devin Marino (WI) p. Bryan Mendoza (CI) 3:32
106 - Ryan Beyerbach (WI) p. Marvin Serpas (CI) 5:27
113 - Colin McShane (WI) p. Jonathan Reyes (CI) 5:43
120 - Chris Labriola (WI) p. Liam Johnson (CI) 1:29
126 - Andres Garcia (CI) d. Brett Boyle (WI) 7-3
132 - Jordan Austin-Mars (CI) d. Matt Ferrugiari (WI) 7-3
138 - Gardy Olivier (CI) p. Steve Schaeffner (WI) 1:23
145 - John Dooling (WI) p. Jabez Nelson (CI) 5:30
152 - Dameek Hall (CI) d. Nick Colloca (WI) 5-1
160 - Dan Youngelman (WI) p. Cesar Jimenez (CI) 3:31
170 - Jared Schumann (WI) won by FFT
182 - Nick Morillo (WI) p. Ronny Garcia (CI) 0:25
195 - Denzel Abolo (CI) p. Ryan Gray (WI) 2:25
220 - Harryson Myrtil (CI) p. Eddie Flaherty (WI) 1:57
285 - Tahj Wiggan (CI) d. Dan Rivera (WI) 3-1