Long Beach, a perennial Nassau County power won the 53rd annual Massapequa Holiday Tournament with 299 points over host Massapequa (278) and defending Suffolk team champion Hauppauge with 212.5 points. Two-time state champion Jacori Teemer (20-0) of Long Beach defeated Garrett Gibbons (Mass), 5-2, in the126-pound semi-finals and controlled  all-county Ben Tepperman (Haup), 8-2 in the finals. For his efforts, Teemer was voted the MOW of the tournament. The Marines crowned two other champions; Joe Giorlando (170) and Elijah Rodriguez at 182. The Chiefs lone winner was all-county Paul Brachfeld who emerged with a wild 11-10 victory over Ricky Almonte (Lev Division) for the 195-pound title. Hauppauge's Chris Mauriello (218 career wins), a 2014 state champion, posted a 17-2 tech fall with a barrage of takedowns and tilts over Sam Einbinder (Bethpage) in the semi-finals and coasted in the championship bout with a 10-1 major decision over Rona Bell (Nashoba, MA) for the 152-pound crown. Mauriello's younger brother Dan, an 8th-grader, won the 106-pound class with a tech fall and joined Eagle teammates state runner-up Jake Silverstein (120) and John Munro (285) in the winners circle.

                       CHAMPIONSHIP FINAL RESULTS

  99- Terry Adams (Mon Farr) pinned Dalton Otto (Conn) :42

106- Dan Mauriello (Haup) tech fall Pablo Martinez (LB) 18-3

113- Danny Colondonna (Conn) maj.dec. Nate Cotreneo (Pittsford) 9-1

120- Jake Silverstein (Haup) dec. Matt Maquet (LB) 5-2

126- Jacori Teemer (LB) dec. Ben Tepperman (Haup) 8-2

132- Peter Pappas (Plainview) dec. Shane Gibbons (Mass) 7-1

138- Tom Repalone (Conn) dec. Andrew Ashmawi (Mass) 4-2 OT

145- Chris Ponce (Lev Div) dec.  Lucas Cordio (Nashoba, MA) 1-0

152- Chris Mauriello (Haup) maj.dec. Ronan Ball (Nashoba, MA) 10-1

160- Ricky Stamm (Lev Div) dec. James Kilgo (Nashoba, MA) 5-0

170- Joe Giorlando (LB) won by default over Marcus Bisono (Haup)

182- Elijah Rodriguez (LB) dec. Tyreek Bromley (LB) 3-1 OT

195- Paul Brachfeld (Mass) dec. Ricky Almonte (Lev Div) 11-10

220- Arjuna Bello (Lev Div) dec. Mark Rivera (LB) 3-2

285- John Munro (Haup) dec. Tom Amato (Mass) 7-4

MOW: Jacori Teemer (Long Beach) - 126 pounds

MOST PINS: Ricky Stamm (Lev Division) - 160 pounds - 3/6:13

Mat Notes: Two-time state finalist Peter Pappas (Plainview) won the 132-pound title and Hofstra-bound Ricky Stamm (Lev Division), a returning state medalist, rolled to the gold medal at 160 pounds. Chris Mauriello is a two-two state placer (1-6) and will take his mat skills to Old Dominion next year. Congratulations to Long Beach veteran head coach Ray Adams who has been at the helm for 19 years, able assistant Leo Palacio and their well rounded coaching staff on the tournament victory. Special thanks to tournament director Laura Maddock for all her assistance throughout the tournament...


1.  Long Beach (299 points)

2.  Massapequa (278)

3.  Hauppauge (212.5)

4.  Levittown Division (164)

4.  Monsignor Farrell (164)

6.  Connetquot (152)

7.  Nashoba,MA (83)

8.  Pittsford  (77)

9.  Bethpage (63)

10.Plainview JFK (49.5)