Suffolk County dual meet champion North Babylon (152 points) has an insurmountable lead over Islip (104) and Lindenhurst (92.5). The Bulldogs have nine wrestlers that earned all-county status and are on the verge of capturing the first county team title in school history. The Bulldog's ninth-seeded Elijah Meyers flattened his opponent at the 4:29 mark to advance to the 215-pound gold medal match. The NB Eagles boast a triumvirate of legendary and veteran coaches; head coach Vinny Innes and able assistants, Terry Haise and Anthony Ciolino. That elite group collectively has amassed an unbelievable 138 years of coaching experience.

Reigning state champion Matt Marlow (38-5, 159-13) used a barrage of double leg and high crotch takedowns en route to a 20-5 tech fall at 124 pounds. Marlow will take his mat skills to the University of Pittsburgh in the fall and will finish as the winningest wrestler in Northport history. He will meet 2002 county champion Mason Mangialino (39-2) of Comsewogue in the final.

Top-seeded sophomore Dario Guglielmo (37-6) of Ward Melville will face #2 ranked Tyler Conzo (32-1) of Smithtown West in the 101-pound final. At 108 pounds, two returning state placers are in the gold medal match, state finalist Connor Sheridan (28-4, 94-14) of Hauppauge is pitted against Longwood's Anthony LaGala-Ryan (43-1) in an intriguing championship bout.

At 131 pounds, the finalists boast impressive career marks, top-seeded Michael Giugliano (MP) has 198 victories and his opponent is the second-seed Tyler Visciano (Sm East) who has tallied 199 wins.

Defending Suffolk champion, eighth-grader Camryn Howard (40-0) of Bellport posted a 16-1 tech fall in the semi-finals and will meet Sayville junior Leo Mongiello (36-4) who had a solid 7-4 decision at 138 pounds.

Brentwood junior Jason Kwaak (30-1) recorded the quickest fall in the semi finals, as he applied a tight half nelson for a :27 second fall, he will meet Huntington's Christian St. John (33-3) in the 152-pound championship bout. St. John's, Dad, Jamie St. John is one of the Blue Devils coaches. He is a former two-time state king (1988-89) for Port Jefferson.

Two other grapplers that are undefeated include a pair of top-seeded matmen, Christopher Reddy (41-0) of Bay Shore at 170 and Bryan Aulino (35-0) of Lindenhurst in the loaded 190-pound bracket.

Aulino will meet rugged Zach Miller (43-1), also a grid iron star, of Islip in the finals.


101- Dario Gugliemo (Ward Melville) dec. Tyler Conzo (Smith West) 4-0

108- Connor Sheridan (Hauppauge) dec. Anthony LaGala-Ryan 6-2

116- Anthony Severino (Lindenhirst) dec. Aidan Donahue (Rocky Pt) 3-2

124- Matt Marlow (Northport) dec. Mason Mangialino (Comsewogue) 9-4

131- Tyler Visciano (Smith East) maj.dec. Michael Giugliano (Miller Place) 8-0

138- Camryn Howard (Bellport) dec. Leo Mongiello (Sayville) 8-4

145- Anthony Avitabile (East Islip) pinned Jared Spahn (Islip) 3:23

152- Jason Kwaak (Brentwood) pinned Christian St. John (Huntington) 1:25

160- Brian Schreck (Miller Place) pinned Lee Faber (Npt) 3:10

170- Christopher Reddy (Bay Shore) maj.dec. Brendan Ridge (Hills West) 15-3

190- Zach Miller (Islip) pined Bryan Aulino (Lind) 2:14

215- Chris Ayala (Brentwood) pinned Elijah Meyers (North Babylon) 2:26

285- Matt Pompeii (ESM) dec. Dominick Albertelli (Islip) 3-2 OTM

MOW AWARD: Anthony Severino (Lindenhurst) - 116 pounds

MOST PINS AWARD: Jason Kwaak (Brentwood) - 152 pounds - 4  in 3:21


 1.  North Babylon (166.5 points)

 2.  Lindenhurst (114.5)

 3.  Islip (110)

 4.  Hauppauge (103.5)

 5.  East Islip (100)

 6.  Northport (90)

 7.  Smithtown East (87.5)

 8.  Smithtown West (83.5)

 9.  Sachem North (83)

10. Brentwood (69)

11. Connetquot (78)

12. Rocky Point (72)

13. Longwood (71.5)

14. Bellport (69)

15. Miller Place (67.5)

Top Row (l. to r.):  Anthony Avitable (East Islip-145), Jason Kwaak (Brentwood-152), Brian Schreck (Miller Place-160), Christopher Reddy (Bay Shore-170), Zach Miller (Islip-190), Chris Ayala (Brentwood-215), Matt Pompeii (Eastport South Manor-285).

Bottom Row (l. to r.):  Dario Guglielmo (Ward Melville-101), Connor Sheridan (Hauppauge-108), Anthony Severino (Lindenhurst-116), Matt Marlow (Northport-124), Tyler Viscano (Smithtown East-131), Camryn Howard (Bellport-138). Photo by Ray Nelson.

North Babylon coaches, Anthony Ciolino, head coach Vinny Innes and Terry Haise. That elite group of venerable and veteran coaches have an impressive 138 years of coaching experience.