99-  Luke Smith (Hauppauge) dec. Pablo Martinez (Long Beach) 1-0
106-  Dylan Earl (Monroe-Woodbury) dec. Dalton Otto (Connetquot) 10-5
113-  Marco Vespa (Mon-Wood) pinned Jimmy Ryan (Monsignor Farrell) :53
120-  Danny Colondona (Conn) dec. Hunter Scutellaro (Massapequa) 9-3
126-  Ben Tepperman (Haup) dec. Dan Mauriello (Haup) 6-1
132-  Matt Maquet (LB) maj.dec. Anthony Sountis (Mon-Wood) 14-3
138-  Jake Silverstein (Haup) dec. Kyle Mosher (SouthSide) 12-5
145-  John Coletti (LB) dec. Shane Gibbons (Mass) 8-4
152-  John Manning (St. Thomas Villanova, Canada) dec. Evan Barczak (MW) 4-1
160-  Tyrese Byron (LB) dec. Greg Wildstein (LB) 9-2
170-  Joe Giorlando (LB) dec. Brandon DeVivio (LB) 9-7
182-  Tyreek Bromley (LB) def. Jeffrey Browne (Conn) injury default
195-  Elijah Rodriguez (LB) tech fall over Nick Trentini (Haup) 17-2
220-  Mark Rivera (LB) pinned Tony Enkhjargal (Pittsford) 4:31
285-  John Munro (Haup) pinned Kevin Smithwick (Mass) 4:26

 Team Standings:

 1. Long Beach (324)
 2. Monroe-Woodbury (246.5)
 3. Hauppauge (230.5)
 4. Connetquot (199.5)
 5. Massapequa (167)
 6. Middletown (104)
 7. Pittsford (94)
 7. Monsignor Farrell (94)
 9. South Side (63.5)
10. Nashoba (40)
11. Bethpage (33)
12. St. Thomas Villanova, Canada (26)
12. Levittown Division (26)
14. West Babylon (25)

OSW Award: Jake Silverstein (138) - Hauppauge

Most Pins: Marco Vespa (113) - Monroe-Woodbury - 3 in 2:04

Mat Notes:
      Long Beach, the 2016 #1 ranked team in the Empire State and currently top-ranked won the 54th annual Massapequa Holiday Tournament, and are currently ranked 30th in the nation according to the Amateur Wrestling News Prep 40 Poll. Head coach Ray Adams, now in his 21st year at the helm, and the Marines emerged with seven champions, amongst their ten finalists in the 14-team field. The Marines were led my All-State matmen Matt Maquet (17-0) at 132 and gridiron star Tyreek Bromley (13-0). Maquet won a hard-fought bout against Massapequa's Andrew Ashmawi (20-2) that ended with an injury default and Bromley used a series of blast double leg takedowns en route to fall at the 4:53 mark in their respective semi-final matches. In the finals Maquet posted a solid 14-3 major decision and Bromley won by injury default over Connetquot's state placer Jeffrey Browne (14-1) at 182 pounds. Hauppauge, defending two-time Suffolk County tournament champions crowned four champions including a pair of unbeatens, Ben Tepperman and Jake Silverstein as  both upped their records to 15-0. Tepperman defeated teammate freshman Dan Mauriello at 126 and Silverstein recorded a solid 12-5 win over South Side's state placer Kyle Mosher (18-2) in the 138-pound final. Other Eagle winners were freshman Luke Smith (12-2) who eked out a 1-0 verdict over Nassau County finalist Pablo Martinez (LB) in the 99-pound bout and undefeated John Munro (13-0) who flattened his opponent at the 4:26 mark at 285 pounds. The lone representative from Villanova Catholic, Canada, was John Manning (14-2) who had an impressive tournament, he posted two first period pins, a 7-2 verdict in the semi-finals and defeated All-State grappler Evan Barczak (18-1) of Section Nine power Monroe-Woodbury, 4-1 in the 145-pound final. Manning is a former Utah state champion and finished 6th at the National Prep Championships, his father, Billy, was a 1983 graduate from Berner HS in Massapequa where he was a league champion and a soccer standout. Special thanks to veteran tournament director Laura Maddock for all her help and assistance throughout the tournament.


Long Beach's Tyrese Byron throws Monsignor Farrell's Mike Lanza in 160 pound semi-final action in the Massapequa Holiday Tournament. Byron (13-3)picked up the second period fall as Long Beach (324.5 points) won the tournament over Monroe-Woodbury (246.5) and Hauppauge (230.5).